Rabbi Marcus MBE – Shemot

Shemot or Exodus as it is known in English – (from the Greek meaning “the road out”) contains 40 chapters and is divided into 11 weekly Sidrot, in which we will read of the enslavement of the children of Israel, the rise of Moshe, the punishment of Egypt (plagues) and the exodus from Egypt.

Shemot also contains the Divine revelation on Sinai and interwoven throughout the entire book is the religious, civil and moral legislation given at Sinai.

Comment on this article

Latest from the blog

N’shei Chayil Shabbat Chanukah – 4th December

Join us for an uplifting festive Shabbat Chanukah and N’shei Chayil service led by Chazan Steven Leas with the Central Synagogue Choir. Followed by a special lunch to…

Read more from the blog